Glossary (still under construction)

We have compiled a list of terms that we are often asked about. If we have missed something, please drop us a line and we will add it.

A

Alt Text or Alt Image Text

Alt Image Text is added to images used on web pages and in posts and serves two purposes: 1) for SEO Best practices, alt image text or tags describe the image and its correlation to the page itself and are used by search engine crawlers when ranking pages, and 2) they create context and accessibility for visually impaired people when visiting a website.

Anchor text

Anchor text is the clickable text hyperlink you see on web pages and within posts and articles. It is often underlined in blue, but can be changed to other colours via the HTML code. Best SEO practices dictate that the anchor text must be relevant to the topic to which the link leads and not simply unrelated text.

Application Programming Interface or API

Think of it as an electronic "middle man" - API allows one application to communicate with or extract information from another application or software.

B

Backlinks

Backlinks (also known as inbound links) are links embedded in the content of a web page that take the user to another web page or website for extended information or further explanation on the topic in question.

Backlink strategy

Google search engine spiders count backlinks as "votes" for a particular page - the more backlinks, the higher Google rates the page's authority. In other words, a page with many backlinks will often rank high in the organic search engine results. As SEO strategy acquiring backlinks can be a very effective way to improve rankings.

Banner ads

Banner ads (also called display ads) are the colourful, visually appealing "billboard" ads that are usually displayed at the top or bottom of a page on websites. They are delivered by ad servers on a cost-per-click basis and are usually relevant to the user's preferences and are the ads that make you wonder, "How did they know I was just looking at that at Amazon look at?"

Boosted Post (Boosted Post)

At Facebook you can "boost" a specific post to a specific audience by spending a small portion of your ad budget to increase your reach to a specific audience. They cost less than a Facebook ad, require no knowledge of Ads Manager and can be very effective.

Bounce Rate

In web traffic analysis, the bounce rate represents the percentage of visits where the user leaves the website without visiting further pages. For Google, users "bouncing" from a website means that the website does not meet their needs, which has a negative impact on the search engine ranking.

Buffer Page

A buffer page is often sent before a requested page and may contain a legal disclaimer or warning, or be a way to add meta tags for SEO purposes.

C

Campaign

Marketing campaigns are created to target a network and can be based on ideas or categorisations, depending on the desired end results. They can take the form of emails, targeted ads, banner ads, direct mail, etc.

Canva

A consumer-based model for the digital marketing journey, where the customer is guided through the sales process by further enticements and engaging content.

Click Funnel

A consumer-based model for the digital marketing journey, where the customer is guided through the sales process by further enticements and engaging content.

CMS

CMS or Content Management System is a software, SAAS or app that creates, manages and delivers digital content, providing indexing, format management, revision control, SEO and full template support. Probably the best known CMS is WordPress.

Content marketing

When you create relevant, insightful content that keeps people coming back - that's content marketing. This can be in the form of blogs, whitepapers, websites, videos, emails, infographics, landing pages or ebooks - just to name a few!

Conversions

Every time you can get a customer to click on the "Buy" button, you have achieved a conversion. The hard part is getting them to buy again and again!

CPA

CPA or Cost Per Action is used in affiliate marketing when a commission is offered when a customer performs a specific action - this can be buying a product, filling out a form or watching a video.

CPC

CPC or Cost Per Click is the price you pay for each click in a pay-per-click (Google Adwords) Marketing campaign pay - the price paid to the publisher of the ad, i.e. Google, Facebook, etc.

CRM

CRM or Customer Relationship Management encompasses strategies that define how you build and maintain relationships with your customers. CRM solutions focus holistically on your customer's business and end goals to develop a strategy and execution plan.

CTA

CTA or Call to Action is included in any good marketing plan to encourage an immediate response or action. Whether a verbal prompt in the form of an advertisement or video, or a CTA button on a web page, a good CTA asks the consumer to act quickly.

CTR

CTR or Click Through Rate is a commonly accepted metric that determines the effectiveness of a marketing process, i.e. keywords, ads, local listings, etc. It is calculated by dividing the number of clicks by the number of impressions. In other words: what percentage of the users who saw the ad clicked on it.

D

Directories

For SEO, it is important to participate in as many directories as possible, especially for local listings. It increases your relevance and improves search engine rankings, i.e. Google Business, Yelp, Yahoo, Bing Places and, yes, even Yellow Pages.

Display ads

Digital advertising and brand communication uses banners, videos or other types of display space to present paid online ads.

Domain

As one of the few things you truly own online, domains define your business, and choosing a strong domain name is critical to the overall success of the website.

Domain-Authority (Domain-Authority)

As your website builds its content and backlinking strategy, build your domain authority. MOZ's Domain Authority is an industry-recognised ranking of search engine effectiveness and the likelihood of higher rankings, based on a score from 1 to 100.

Drip campaign

A direct marketing technique where you nurture each lead through a series of contacts that take them further along the sales funnel or click funnel. Most often these campaigns use email and text to entice the customer with tailored and personalised messages.

Dwell Time

For SEO purposes, dwell time is the amount of time a visitor can be enticed to stay on a website. For Google, a dwell time of 3.06 minutes is required to positively influence the authority of the page and the search engine ranking.

E

Email marketing

When you sign up for a newsletter or email subscription, you have agreed to participate in email advertising where you will receive frequent drip email advertising.

ERP

ERP or Enterprise Resource Planning is used when developing a marketing strategy that focuses on growth and expansion rather than just maintaining a current customer base.

ESP or email service provider offers paid email marketing services, e.g. MailChimp, ConstantContact, Active Campaign, .

As one of the few things you truly own online, domains define your business, and choosing a strong domain name is critical to the overall success of the website.

en_GBEnglish

Glossar (noch im Aufbau)

Wir haben eine Liste von Begriffen zusammengestellt, nach denen wir oft gefragt werden. Wenn wir etwas übersehen haben, schreiben Sie uns bitte eine Nachricht und wir werden es nachtragen.

A

Alt Text oder Alt Image Text

Alt Image Text wird zu Bildern hinzugefügt, die auf Webseiten und in Beiträgen verwendet werden, und erfüllt zwei Zwecke: 1) für SEO Best Practices, Alt Image Text oder Tags beschreiben das Bild und seine Korrelation zur Seite selbst und werden von Suchmaschinen-Crawlern beim Ranking von Seiten verwendet, und 2) sie schaffen Kontext und Zugänglichkeit für sehbehinderte Menschen beim Besuch einer Website.

Ankertext

Anchor-Text ist der anklickbare Text-Hyperlink, den Sie auf Webseiten und innerhalb von Beiträgen und Artikeln sehen. Oft ist er blau unterstrichen, kann aber über den HTML-Code auch in andere Farben geändert werden. Die besten SEO-Praktiken schreiben vor, dass der Ankertext für das Thema, zu dem der Link führt, relevant sein muss und nicht einfach ein Text ohne Bezug ist.

Anwendungsprogrammierschnittstelle oder API

Stellen Sie es sich als einen elektronischen „Mittelsmann“ vor – API ermöglicht es einer Anwendung, mit einer anderen Anwendung oder Software zu kommunizieren oder Informationen daraus zu extrahieren.

B

Backlinks

Backlinks (auch als eingehende Links bekannt) sind Links, die in den Inhalt einer Webseite eingebettet sind und den Benutzer zu einer anderen Webseite oder einem anderen Internetauftritt führen, um erweiterte Informationen oder weitere Erklärungen zu dem jeweiligen Thema zu erhalten.

Backlink-Strategie

Google-Suchmaschinenspider zählen Backlinks als „Stimmen“ für eine bestimmte Seite – je mehr Backlinks, desto höher bewertet Google die Autorität der Seite. Mit anderen Worten: Eine Seite mit vielen Backlinks wird in den organischen Suchmaschinenergebnissen oft weit oben ranken. Als SEO-Strategie kann das Erwerben von Backlinks ein sehr effektiver Weg sein, um die Rankings zu verbessern.

Banner-Anzeigen

Banner-Anzeigen (auch Display-Anzeigen genannt) sind die bunten, optisch ansprechenden „Billboard“-Anzeigen, die auf Webseiten normalerweise oben oder unten auf einer Seite angezeigt werden. Sie werden von Ad-Servern auf einer Cost-per-Click-Basis ausgeliefert und sind in der Regel relevant für die Vorlieben des Nutzers und sind die Anzeigen, bei denen man sich fragt: „Woher wussten die, dass ich mir das gerade bei Amazon anschaue?“

Boosted Post (Geboosteter Beitrag)

Auf Facebook können Sie einen bestimmten Post für eine bestimmte Zielgruppe „boosten“, indem Sie einen kleinen Teil Ihres Anzeigenbudgets ausgeben, um Ihre Reichweite bei einer bestimmten Zielgruppe zu erhöhen. Sie kosten weniger als eine Facebook-Werbeanzeige, erfordern keine Kenntnisse über den Ads Manager und können sehr effektiv sein.

Bounce Rate (Absprungrate)

In der Web-Traffic-Analyse stellt die Absprungrate den Prozentsatz der Besuche dar, bei denen der Nutzer die Website verlässt, ohne weitere Seiten zu besuchen. Für Google bedeutet das „Abspringen“ von Nutzern von einer Website, dass die Website nicht ihren Bedürfnissen entspricht, was sich negativ auf das Suchmaschinenranking auswirkt.

Buffer Page (Pufferseite)

Eine Pufferseite wird oft vor einer angeforderten Seite gesendet und kann einen rechtlichen Haftungsausschluss oder eine Warnung enthalten oder eine Möglichkeit sein, Meta-Tags für SEO-Zwecke hinzuzufügen.

C

Campaign (Kampagne)

Marketing-Kampagnen werden erstellt, um ein Netzwerk anzusprechen, und können auf Ideen oder Kategorisierungen basieren, je nachdem, welche Endergebnisse gewünscht sind. Sie können die Form von E-Mails, gezielten Anzeigen, Bannerwerbung, Direktwerbung usw. annehmen.

Canva

Ein konsumentenbasiertes Modell für die digitale Marketing-Journey, bei dem der Kunde durch weitere Verlockungen und ansprechende Inhalte durch den Verkaufsprozess geführt wird.

Click Funnel (Klick Trichter)

Ein konsumentenbasiertes Modell für die digitale Marketing-Journey, bei dem der Kunde durch weitere Verlockungen und ansprechende Inhalte durch den Verkaufsprozess geführt wird.

CMS

CMS oder Content Management System ist eine Software, SAAS oder App, die digitale Inhalte erstellt, verwaltet und bereitstellt und dabei Indexierung, Formatmanagement, Revisionskontrolle, SEO und vollständige Vorlagenunterstützung bietet. Das wohl bekannteste CMS ist WordPress.

Content-Marketing

Wenn Sie relevante, aufschlussreiche Inhalte erstellen, die Menschen dazu bringen, wiederzukommen – das ist Content Marketing. Dies kann in Form von Blogs, Whitepapers, Webseiten, Videos, E-Mails, Infografiken, Landing Pages oder Ebooks geschehen – um nur einige zu nennen!

Conversions

Jedes Mal, wenn Sie einen Kunden dazu bringen können, auf den „Kaufen“-Button zu klicken, haben Sie eine Conversion erzielt. Das Schwierige ist nun, ihn immer wieder dazu bekommen, nochmal zu kaufen!

CPA

CPA oder Cost Per Action wird im Affiliate-Marketing verwendet, wenn eine Provision angeboten wird, wenn ein Kunde eine bestimmte Aktion ausführt – das kann der Kauf eines Produkts, das Ausfüllen eines Formulars oder das Anschauen eines Videos sein.

CPC

CPC oder Cost Per Click ist der Preis, den Sie für jeden Klick in einer Pay-per-Click (PPC) Marketing-Kampagne zahlen – der Preis, der an den Herausgeber der Anzeige gezahlt wird, d.h. Google, Facebook, etc.

CRM

CRM oder Customer Relationship Management umfasst Strategien, die festlegen, wie Sie die Beziehungen zu Ihren Kunden aufbauen und pflegen. CRM-Lösungen konzentrieren sich ganzheitlich auf das Geschäft und die Endziele Ihres Kunden, um eine Strategie und einen Ausführungsplan zu entwickeln.

CTA

CTA oder Call to Action ist in jedem guten Marketingplan vorgesehen, um eine sofortige Reaktion oder Aktion zu fördern. Ob eine verbale Aufforderung in Form einer Werbung oder eines Videos oder eine CTA-Schaltfläche auf einer Webseite, ein guter CTA fordert den Verbraucher auf, schnell zu handeln.

CTR

CTR oder Click Through Rate ist eine allgemein anerkannte Kennzahl, die die Effektivität eines Marketingprozesses bestimmt, d. h. Schlüsselwörter, Anzeigen, lokale Inserate usw. Sie wird berechnet, indem man die Anzahl der Klicks durch die Anzahl der Impressions dividiert. Also: Wie viel Prozent der Benutzer, die die Anzeige angezeigt bekommen haben, darauf geklickt haben.

D

Directories (Verzeichnisse)

Für SEO ist es wichtig, an so vielen Verzeichnissen wie möglich teilzunehmen, insbesondere für lokale Einträge. Es erhöht Ihre Relevanz und verbessert das Ranking in den Suchmaschinen, d. h. Google Business, Yelp, Yahoo, Bing Places und, ja, sogar Gelbe Seiten.

Display-Anzeigen

Digitale Werbung und Markenkommunikation nutzt Banner, Videos oder andere Arten von Display-Flächen, um bezahlte Online-Anzeigen zu präsentieren.

Domain

Als eines der wenigen Dinge, die Sie online wirklich besitzen, definieren Domains Ihr Unternehmen, und die Wahl eines starken Domainnamens ist entscheidend für den Gesamterfolg der Website.

Domain-Authority (Domain-Authorität)

Während Ihre Website ihren Inhalt und ihre Backlinking-Strategie aufbaut, bauen Sie Ihre Domain-Autorität auf. Die von MOZ entwickelte Domain-Autorität ist ein branchenweit anerkanntes Ranking der Suchmaschinen-Effektivität und der Wahrscheinlichkeit höherer Rankings, basierend auf einer Punktzahl von 1 bis 100.

Drip-Kampagne

Eine Direktmarketing-Technik, bei der Sie jeden Lead durch eine Reihe von Kontakten pflegen, die ihn weiter entlang des Verkaufstrichters oder Klick-Trichters führen. Meistens verwenden diese Kampagnen E-Mail und Text, um den Kunden mit maßgeschneiderten und personalisierten Nachrichten zu locken.

Dwell Time (Verweildauer)

Für SEO-Zwecke ist die Verweildauer die Zeitspanne, in der ein Besucher dazu verleitet werden kann, auf einer Website zu bleiben. Für Google ist eine Verweildauer von 3,06 Minuten erforderlich, um die Autorität der Seite und das Suchmaschinenranking positiv zu beeinflussen.

E

E-Mail Marketing

Wenn Sie sich für einen Newsletter oder ein E-Mail-Abonnement anmelden, haben Sie zugestimmt, an E-Mail-Werbung teilzunehmen, bei der Sie häufig E-Mail-Werbung in Form einer Drip-Kampagne erhalten.

ERP

ERP oder Enterprise Resource Planning wird verwendet, wenn eine Marketingstrategie entwickelt wird, die sich auf Wachstum und Expansion konzentriert und nicht nur auf die Erhaltung eines aktuellen Kundenstamms.

ESP oder E-Mail-Service-Provider bietet kostenpflichtige E-Mail-Marketingdienste an, z. B. MailChimp, ConstantContact, Active Campaign, .

Als eines der wenigen Dinge, die Sie online wirklich besitzen, definieren Domains Ihr Unternehmen, und die Wahl eines starken Domainnamens ist entscheidend für den Gesamterfolg der Website.

de_DEGerman